Requesting a Diploma
In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, only the individual earning the diploma can request it.
If your original diploma has been damaged during mailing, return the original diploma to us within 90 days of receipt and a new diploma will be issued to you free of charge. Verify that the address you have on record with us is the correct mailing address.
Any other request for a replacement diploma, ordered more that 90 days after receipt of the original and/or not including the original diploma, must include a check of money order for $20.00, made payable to The College of New Jersey.
Send the following information via written letter to The Office of Records & Registration, attn: Nita Ball:
- The name under which you attended The College
- Your social security number or PAWS ID
- The month and year of your graduation
- The degree you earned
- The reason for the request
- The address you would like the diploma sent to
- A $20.00 replacement/duplicate diploma fee in check or money order made payable to The College of New Jersey.
- Request should be sent to: The College of New Jersey, The Office of Records & Registration, PO Box 7718, Ewing, NJ 08628-0718
You can expect your diploma to arrive approximately eight to ten weeks after your request has been received in The Office of Records and Registration. (Replacements are ordered at the end of each calendar month.)
Replacement diplomas can only be ordered in the name under which you attended The College.
Please download and print this form. Read the instructions carefully and answer all questions to the best of your knowledge.
Diploma Replacement Policy
Any graduate who requests a replacement diploma will automatically receive a diploma with The College of New Jersey name. However; upon request, The College can also provide a Trenton State College diploma to those graduates who applied to or attended The College while it bore the Trenton State College name (ie: until June 30, 1996).
Additionally, any student who graduated from The College while it bore the Trenton State College name may request a diploma with The College of New Jersey name.
All duplicate/replacement diploma requests must be accompanied by either the original diploma returned no more that 90 days after receipt by the student or a $20.00 (check or money order) duplicate/replacement fee made payable to The College of New Jersey .
Requesting a Duplicate Diploma for Employment Purposes
Please be advised that unless your prospective employer/employer is asking specifically for a copy of your diploma, a transcript is a more legal and expedient document to serve as proof of your course work/graduation. Request a Transcript
However, if an original copy of your diploma is mandatory, you should follow the instructions above for “Requesting a Diploma.”